TACET-Website - english

Deutsch | English | Francais


Tube Only

Jubi

On 2 April 1989 the label TACET was founded in Stuttgart.

We have come up with plenty of ideas to celebrate this big jubilee as is fitting.

After starting off our Blu-ray Discs, which show great promise of success, many more releases will follow in TACET Real Surround Sound. We are also continuing vinyl at full speed after last year's spectacular "Play Backwards" LPs. We are expecting 3 new CD recordings by Evgeni Koroliov alone (Schubert, Stravinsky, Beethoven). Throughout the year, the Auryn Quartet together with Nobuko Imai will delve into a complete recording of the string quintets of Mozart. Just a few days ago, Christoph Ullrich started the utterly crazy complete recording of the 555 piano sonatas of Domenico Scarlatti. The Nederlands Philharmonisch Orkest is playing the symphonies of Gounod. And Wojchiech Rajski is giving us the most beautiful birthday present this summer with his Polish Chamber Philharmonic: he will be completing the first Beethoven symphony cycle in TACET Real Surround Sound. Never before has a recording been in such demand by customers, so persistently over the course of years, as this Ninth. And that is certainly not all…

A very important date for you and us: the High End Show in Munich from 15 to 18 May. We have booked a larger-than-usual stand there in order to present our recordings in the best possible quality. This time it will be in a different way than usual - in the form of "concerts" of our sound carriers. We are offering the music in a sound quality that many people do not know at all. Everyone should find out just what overwhelming experiences are made possible by our recordings. Some will even discover details from the scores that remained hidden at concerts. -

In order to do justice to the music, we shall be playing according to a fixed programme. Thomas Gluck from Sweden will moderate; I shall be helping him, friends and important artists will visit us, but above all the music will be running - longer passages of it than usual. Entire movements, whole works. As I said before, a concert programme. We hope you'll come by and visit us!



Our posters for Download:

A new poster series to celebrate TACET's 25th anniversary has just been finished. Five posters introduce individual aspects of our work that have helped us create an unmistakeable profile over the course of many years: the innovative spirit, a home for artists, special sound, zest for music and constancy of personnel. If any readers would like to hang up any of the posters: just go ahead! The print data are ready here:

TACET 25 Years of Innovations 25 Years of Innovations

Would you like an example? How about ordering number 1, "Premiere - We're Going to the Concert", the first game with music and CD? This enjoyable parlour game took advantage of the fact that one could, for the first time, jump directly to individual pieces of music on a CD - a sensation in those days. With an LP there would have been a wild search for the right alignment groove and plenty of winding with tape systems - neither of which was feasible. On a CD, one simply types "25" and track 25 appears.
- Or how about ordering number 207, the Backwards Boléro, surely the best-selling LP classic of the past year? Just place the needle inside, not outside, with resounding success: there is definitely a better sound where you really need it, namely at the end. Since then, many people have asked why that hasn't always been standard with LPs.
These two products alone have lent more than a fragrance to the music market, but here they simply stand as symbols of our label's uninterrupted power of innovation. Other trailblazing novelties such as TACET Real Surround Sound, created 14 years ago, will - I am convinced - influence the music market to a far greater extent and on a more lasting basis - if they are not already doing so now. And now, the Anniversary Year also has surprises in store...

 

 

TACET 25 Years Home for Artists 25 Years: A Home for Artists

Artists feel so well looked after at TACET that they don't want to go anywhere else. TACET recordings remain in the catalogue for many years or even decades. Our artists never come to know the often painful experience when a recording, made with all their heart and soul, suddenly disappears from the market. Thus there are meanwhile 58 different sound carriers by the Auryn Quartet, 16 by Evgeni Koroliov 16, almost everything by the Abegg Trio that they have ever recorded, as is also true of Erika Haase (died in 2013), Hartmut Lindemann, the Gaede Trio and quite a few others.
Musicians love the natural quality of timbres on TACET recordings. A sound engineer colleague once asked me: "Hey, where do you get those timbres from?" Probably from the tube microphones, but also, especially, from the musicians. And from other participants: what other firms spend for the finished recording, TACET does just for the grand piano.
The choice of pieces is made by mutual consent and in partnership. The decision in favour of the artists is made at the beginning, followed by the programme. Ideas of the musicians are often found in the catalogue; frequently they have their own ideas or stimuli from outside, but this is always done in complete compliance and full of enthusiasm. Only this makes possible long-term projects like the complete edition of the Haydn string quartets, the Beethoven symphonies or even the complete sonatas of Scarlatti.
The artistic cover design, the clear layout within the booklets as well, interesting and sensitive introductory texts, translations by native-speaking musicians and many other features contribute to the satisfaction of the musicians.
No wonder the artists regard TACET as their home.

 

TACET 25 Years of Sound.pdf 25 Years of Sound

Sound 1 - Stewart Eaton has received a new viola, a valuable item on loan. The Auryn Quartet is rehearsing a piece right now, and he is playing the instrument for the first time. The others can't believe their ears. What is this, then? They hardly recognise their own violist! And suddenly they hear themselves differently as well. They almost forget to continue playing. Soon they themselves sound differently, although nothing having to do with their instruments has changed.

Sound 2 - Evgeni Koroliov is recording a piece by Bach. He could play it flawlessly ten times. But he is not satisfied. He is looking for another sound. "Please turn off your machines - I have to clean things up a bit." He plays just a few single notes, groping for them. Then he repeats the whole piece for the tape, again and again, and each time there is a little bit more of what he is looking for. Just a little bit less pressure and the tone would no longer sound at all. That's it. A fragile sound bordering on nothingness.

Sound 3 - An old tube microphone makes a different noise floor from that of a modern transistor microphone. It makes a bit more noise, and it is somewhat more irregular. Sometimes the tube is too old or has had a bad day. Then it "sizzles" a bit, or it "throttles". If things get too bad, then it must be replaced or, if there are no more spare tubes, the entire microphone must be replaced. But if the rustling remains below the subjective auditory threshold, then I love this somewhat unstable, living sound that doesn't disturb the music, but even enriches it. I then think of the canvas of a painter, which is also visible and yet does not apparently have anything to do with what he is painting.

Which of these components - the instrument, the playing, the transmission - exerts which influence, cannot be determined. And there are still others, such as the space, for example. All these components together, in their entirety, determine what is being passionately sought by all participants in every single release of the label TACET. For the past 25 years.

 

TACET 25 Years Lost in Music Lost in Music for 25 Years

25 years, means

14 blu-ray discs
21 SACDs
26 vinyls
35 DVD-Audios
235 CDs
244 artists
318 composers
1693 works
5485 tracks
400 hours of music
50000 bars
20000000 notes
200000000000 samples
4000000000000 bits

and it never, ever, ever gets boring! That's TACET's range of products.

 

 

TACET 25 Years of TACET

25 Years of TACET

25 years ago it was enough to bring out a CD of a well-known artist with a programme of his or her choice and sales success was guaranteed. Today you could say, to paraphrase Karl Valentin, everything has already been recorded, but not yet by everybody. To preserve an artist A with programme B in room C so that the sound is at least easily recognisable can now be done by almost any mobile phone. Why should you spend money on it? If the artist is famous and has something personal to say, then a concert will always seem more rewarding.

Photography is similar. In the past a photo was an expensive affair. Today the cheapest digital camera delivers razor sharp images. Anyone wanting something special no longer takes snapshots. Presentation of photos is becoming ever more important. This is demonstrated, for example, in the cost and effort that goes into wedding photographs. My wife and I have just one; without feet...

As a Tonmeister I could never accept "the disc" as a poor substitute for a live concert. I have always tried to regard it as its own artistic medium. Today, more than ever, it is important to present works and interpretations in a special but meaningful way and, indeed, in a way that is not possible in a concert. It is important to support the artist, to challenge him, to show him the differences between concert and disc and to go with him on an adventurous treasure hunt beyond the concert hall. Unusual and well-thought-out recordings are always interesting.

That is how we wish to continue in years to come.

 

 


Back | Print | Go up   You are here: Home | TACET

TACET-Website - deutsch

Deutsch | English | Francais


Tube Only

Jubi

Am 2. April 1989 wurde das Label TACET in Stuttgart aus der Taufe gehoben.

Um das große Jubiläum gebührend zu feiern haben wir uns eine ganze Menge ausgedacht.

Die Blu-ray Disc mit dem TACET Real Surround Sound und hochaufgelöstem Stereo hat einen sehr erfolgversprechenden Start hingelegt. Es folgen viele weitere Neuerscheinungen auf diesem Medium. Auf Vinyl geht's nach den spektakulären "Play Backwards"-LPs vom letzten Jahr mit Volldampf und neuen Überraschungen weiter. Allein 3 CD-Neueinspielungen erwarten wir von Evgeni Koroliov (Schubert, Strawinsky, Beethoven). Durch das Jahr hindurch vertieft sich das Auryn Quartett zusammen mit Nobuko Imai in eine Gesamtaufnahme der Streichquintette von Mozart. Christoph Ullrich startete vor einigen Tagen bereits in die völlig verrückte Gesamtaufnahme der 555 Klaviersonaten von Domenico Scarlatti. Das Nederlands Philharmonisch Orkest spielt die Sinfonien von Gounod. Und Wojchiech Rajski macht uns im Sommer mit seiner polnischen Kammerphilharmonie das schönste Geburtstagsgeschenk: Er komplettiert den ersten Beethoven-Sinfonien-Zyklus im TACET Real Surround Sound. Noch nie wurde nach einer Aufnahme so oft und hartnäckig über Jahre hinweg von Kunden gefragt wie nach dieser Neunten. Und das ist beileibe noch nicht alles…

Ein ganz wichtiger Termin für Sie und uns: die High End Messe in München vom 15. bis 18. Mai. Dort haben wir einen etwas größeren Stand als sonst gebucht, um unsere Aufnahmen in bestmöglicher Qualität vorzuführen. Und zwar anders als üblich, nämlich in Form von "Konzerten" unserer Tonträger. Wir bieten die Musik in einer Klangqualität an, die viele Menschen noch gar nicht kennen. Jeder soll erfahren, was für überwältigende Erlebnisse unsere Aufnahmen ermöglichen. Manch einer wird sogar Details aus den Partituren entdecken, die ihm im Konzert verborgen geblieben waren. –

Um der Musik gerecht zu werden, spielen wir nach einem festgelegten Programm vor. Thomas Gluck aus Schweden moderiert, ich helfe ihm, Freunde und wichtige Künstler besuchen uns, aber vor allem läuft Musik und zwar längere Passagen als üblich. Ganze Sätze, ganze Werke. Wie gesagt, ein Konzertprogramm. Kommen Sie doch auch vorbei!



Unsere Plakatserie zum Download:

Soeben ist eine neue Plakatserie zum 25-jährigen Jubiläum von TACET fertig geworden. 5 Plakate stellen einzelne Aspekte unserer Arbeit vor, die über die vielen Jahre hinweg halfen, ein unverwechselbares Profil zu schaffen: Innovationsfreude, Heimat für Künstler, besonderer Klang, Lust an der Musik und personelle Konstanz. Falls der eine oder andere Leser das eine oder andere Plakat aufhängen möchte: Nur zu - die Druckdaten liegen hier bereit!

TACET 25 Years of Innovations 25 Jahre Innovationen

Beispiel gefällig? Wie wär's mit Bestellnummer 1 "Premiere - Wir gehen ins Konzert", dem ersten Spiel mit Musik und CD? Dieses vergnügliche Gesellschaftsspiel machte sich den Umstand zunutze, dass man bei einer CD erstmals direkt auf einzelne Musikstücke springen konnte, seinerzeit eine Sensation. Bei einer LP hätte das ein wildes Suchen nach der richtigen Kennrille gegeben und bei bandgestützen Systemen ein einziges Spulen, beides nicht praktikabel. Auf der CD tippt man ein: "25" und es kommt Track 25. - Oder wie wär's mit der Bestellnummer 207, dem Rückwärts-Boléro, der sicherlich bestverkauften LP-Klassikerscheinung des letzten Jahres? Einfach die Nadel nicht außen, sondern innen einsetzen mit durchschlagendem Erfolg: Deutlich besserer Klang dort, wo's wirklich drauf ankommt, nämlich am Schluss. Viele fragen sich seitdem, warum das nicht schon immer Standard bei der LP war. Allein diese beiden Produktionen haben dem Musikmarkt mehr als nur eine Duftnote verliehen, doch stehen sie hier nur als Symbole für die ununterbrochene Innovationskraft unseres Labels. Weitere bahnbrechende Neuheiten wie der vor 14 Jahren entstandene TACET Real Surround Sound werden - davon bin ich überzeugt - den Musikmarkt noch weit mehr und nachhaltiger beeinflussen - oder tun es bereits. Und auch das Jubiläumsjahr hält Überraschungen bereit...

 

 

TACET 25 Years Home for Artists 25 Jahre: Heimat für Künstler

Die Künstler fühlen sich bei TACET so gut aufgehoben, dass sie gar nicht woanders hin wollen.
TACET-Aufnahmen bleiben viele Jahre oder sogar Jahrzehnte im Katalog. Die für Musiker oft schmerzhafte Erfahrung, dass eine mit viel Herzblut entstandene Aufnahme plötzlich gar nicht mehr auf dem Markt ist, kennen unsere Künstler nicht. So gibt es vom Auryn-Quartett mittlerweile 58 verschiedene Tonträger, von Evgeni Koroliov 16, vom Abegg Trio praktisch alles, was sie jemals aufgenommen haben, ebenso von Erika Haase (gest. 2013), von Hartmut Lindemann, vom Gaede Trio und etlichen anderen.
Musiker lieben die Natürlichkeit der Klangfarben von TACET-Aufnahmen. Ein Tonmeisterkollege fragte mich einst: "Mensch, wo nimmst du immer diese Klangfarben her?" Wohl auch von den Röhrenmikrofonen, vor allem aber von den Musikern. Und von anderen Beteiligten: Was andere Firmen für die fertige Aufnahme ausgeben, das fällt bei TACET allein schon für den Flügel an.
Die Auswahl der Stücke verläuft einvernehmlich und partnerschaftlich. Am Anfang steht die Entscheidung für den Künstler, dann folgt das Programm. Oft finden Ideen der Musiker in den Katalog, oft eigene oder Anregungen von außen, immer aber in voller Übereinstimmung und voller Begeisterung. Nur das macht langfristige Projekte wie die Gesamtausgabe der Streichquartette von Joseph Haydn, die Beethoven-Sinfonien oder sogar alle Sonaten von Scarlatti möglich.
Die künstlerische Covergestaltung, das klare Layout auch innerhalb der Hefte, interessante und einfühlsame Einführungstexte, Übersetzungen von originalsprachlichen Musikern und vieles andere tragen zur Zufriedenheit der Künstler bei.
Kein Wunder, dass die Künstler TACET als ihre Heimat betrachten.

 

TACET 25 Years of Sound.pdf 25 Jahre Klang

Klang 1 - Stewart Eaton hat eine neue Viola bekommen, eine kostbare Leihgabe. Das Auryn Quartett probt gerade ein Stück, und er spielt das Instrument zum ersten Mal. Die drei anderen trauen ihren Ohren nicht. Was ist denn das? So kennen sie ihren Bratscher doch gar nicht! Und auch sich selber hören sie auf einmal anders. Sie vergessen beinahe weiterzuspielen. Bald schon klingen sie selber anders, obwohl sich doch bei ihren Instrumenten gar nichts verändert hat.

Klang 2 - Evgeni Koroliov nimmt ein Stück von Bach auf. Mühelos könnte er es zehnmal fehlerfrei spielen. Doch er ist nicht zufrieden. Er sucht einen anderen Klang. "Stellen Sie bitte Ihre Maschinen ab, ich muss noch ein wenig putzen." Er spielt nur ein paar einzelne Töne, sucht, tastet. Dann wiederholt er das ganze Stück für das Band, immer wieder, und jedes Mal schält sich mehr von dem heraus, was er sucht. Noch ein klein wenig weniger Druck und der Ton würde gar nicht mehr klingen. Das ist es. Ein zerbrechlicher Klang an der Grenze zum Nichts.

Klang 3 - Ein altes Röhrenmikrofon rauscht anders als ein modernes Tranistormikrofon. Es rauscht ein bißchen mehr und ungleichmäßiger. Manchmal ist die Röhre zu alt oder hat einen schlechten Tag erwischt. Dann "bruzzelt" sie ein wenig, oder sie "krisselt". Geht es zu arg, muss sie ausgetauscht werden oder, wenn es keine Ersatzröhren mehr gibt, das ganze Mikrofon. Bleibt das Rauschen aber unter der subjektiven Hörschwelle, dann liebe ich diesen etwas unsteten, lebendigen Klang, der die Musik gerade eben nicht stört, sondern statt dessen sogar bereichert. Dabei denke ich an die Leinwand des Malers, die auch sichtbar ist und doch mit dem, was er malt, scheinbar nichts zu tun hat.

Welche von diesen Komponenten - das Instrument, das Spiel, die Übertragung - welchen Einfluss ausübt, lässt sich nicht bestimmen. Und es gibt ja noch weitere, z. B. den Raum. Alle zusammen bestimmen in ihrer Gesamtheit das, wonach bei jeder einzelnen Veröffentlichung des Labels TACET von allen Beteiligten mit Leidenschaft gesucht wird. Seit 25 Jahren.

 

TACET 25 Years Lost in Music Lost in Music for 25 Years

25 Jahre, das sind

14 Blu-rays
21 SACDs
26 LPs
35 DVD-Audios
235 CDs
244 Interpreten
318 Komponisten
1693 Werke
5485 Tracks

und ungefähr

400 Stunden Musik
50000 Takte
20000000 Noten
200000000000 Samples
4000000000000 Bits

und nie nie nie wird's langweilig! Das ist das Programm von TACET.

 

TACET 25 Years of TACET

25 Jahre TACET

Vor 25 Jahren reichte es, einen bekannten Künstler mit einem Programm seiner Wahl auf CD herauszubringen, und der Verkaufserfolg war gewiss. Heute könnte man in Abwandlung eines Wortes von Karl Valentin sagen: Es ist schon alles aufgenommen worden, nur noch nicht von allen. Einen Künstler A mit dem Programm B in einem Saal C so zu konservieren, dass immerhin die Töne gut zu erkennen sind, das bietet mittlerweile fast jedes Handy. Warum dafür Geld ausgeben? Ist der Künstler berühmt und hat er etwas Persönliches zu sagen, dann erscheint ein Konzertbesuch allemal lohnender.

Mit der Fotografie verhält es sich ähnlich. Früher war ein Foto eine teure Angelegenheit. Heute liefert die billigste Digitalkamera gestochen scharfe Bilder. Wer etwas besonderes will, der macht keine Schnappschüsse mehr. Das Inszenieren von Fotos wird immer wichtiger. Darauf weist z. B. der Aufwand hin, der heutzutage für Hochzeitsfotos getrieben wird. Von meiner Frau und mir gibt es ein einziges, ohne Füße...

Als Tonmeister konnte ich "die Platte" noch nie als einen schlechten Ersatz für das Live-Konzert akzeptieren. Ich habe stets versucht, sie als eigenes künstlerisches Medium zu betrachten. Heute mehr denn je kommt es darauf an, Werke und Interpretationen auf besondere, aber sinnvolle Art zu inszenieren und zwar so, wie es im Konzert nicht möglich ist. Es gilt, den Künstler zu unterstützen, ihn herauszufordern, ihm die Unterschiede zwischen Konzert und Platte zu zeigen und mit ihm auf die abenteuerliche Schatzsuche jenseits des Konzertsaals zu gehen. Ungewöhnliche und durchdachte Aufnahmen sind immer interessant.

Das wollen wir in den kommenden Jahren fortsetzen.

 


Zurück | Drucken | Seite hoch   Sie sind hier: Home | TACET